Repurposing Leftovers: Red Beans and Rice in to Bean Burritos

Last week, I made Slow-Cooker Red Beans and Rice, following this Southern Living recipe.  I’ve made this about three times, and it’s always delicious.  The only thing I do differently than the recipe is that since I have trouble finding andouille sausage, I use kielbasa – and I cook that separately in the oven (because it does not hold up in the slow cooker – lesson learned).

This make a lot of beans, so we had quite a bit leftover with no more sausage.  What to do with those beans???

Last night – for my first Meatless Monday – I repurposed them into Bean Burritos, adapted from this Martha Stewart recipe.  I love that she tells you how to freeze these.  As a bonus, I had made a corn side dish to take to a potluck on Easter, and we had some leftovers from that as well that I was able to use.

Here’s my adapted recipe:

Bean Burritos

  • 1/2 C uncooked rice (should make 1 C cooked)
  • 1 C water (or how much according to directions on rice)
  • 1 Tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp lime juice
  • Leftover beans from Red Beans and Rice (I had about 3 C of beans)
  • 1/2 can Enchilada Sauce
  • 1/2 Tbsp Cumin
  • 1 tsp Garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Onion powder
  • Leftover corn (recipe includes corn, cream cheese, green chiles, and butter – tried to drain the melted cream cheese from the kernels)
  • 8 Burrito size tortillas (I like Mission’s carb-balance whole wheat ones)
  • 2 C shredded cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Salsa

I used Garlic and onion powders instead of the real things because I was short on time.  I skipped the jalapeno because the beans, cooked in creole seasoning, already had some spice.

  • Add rice, water, cilantro, and lime to sauce pan.  Cook according to directions on rice package.
  • Heat up left over beans in sauce pan;  stir-in enchilada sauce, cumin, garlic powder, and onion powder.
  • Heat up leftover corn (if no leftover – follow Martha).
  • Assemble burritos:  lay one tortilla flat; spread 1 Tbsp sour cream down the center (if desired); spread 1/8 C rice over sour cream, followed by 1/3 C +/- bean mixture, and 1/8 C corn; sprinkle on 1/4 C shredded cheese and salsa if desired; fold ends of tortilla, the roll into burrito.
  • Enjoy or freeze for later!
Leave a Reply

