Slow-Cooker Challenge

If you’ve read more than a couple of my blog posts, you’ve probably read about my love of my Crockpot.  I’ve been debating for some time about taking this love to the next level – making one slow cooker meal a week.  Last week, as I prepared a menu for the entire month of April (which I typically only make weekly menus), I decided to incorporate two things:  Meatless Monday and using the slow cooker on my busiest day of week.  Just for fun, I thought I make it a “challenge” for myself for the rest of the year – 39 weeks.  And for even more fun, I thought I’d post it on here, in case anyone else would like to join me!  (I’ve never participated in a blog challenge, let alone create one, and yet, starting today, I am taking on both.  Forgive me if I don’t know what I am doing.)  I know this is a little different from the “organizing my life” that this blog was created for – but it is a step to making my busy life a little less hectic – at least for one meal a week.

slowcookerchallenge

Okay – If you’d like to join in this Slow-Cooker Challenge, here are the rules I’ve made for myself:

Use the Slow Cooker for one meal each week for the remainder of the year.  I don’t care if it is the same day each week, but I am aiming for dinner on Wednesdays since I won’t get home until 7.  There are 39 Wednesday’s left in the year, so that means 39 meals.

One-Pot Meals are not required.  I haven’t tried any of them, but there are lots of recipes for things other than meals – such as desserts and side dishes.  You don’t have to make a “meal” – but you do have to make something in the slow-cooker as part of the meal.

Try different recipes.  I’d like to pretend that I won’t repeat a recipe, but I know there are some that we really like already that I will probably cook more than once.  No big deal – just so long as you don’t end up cooking the same thing every time.

Share a review of your recipe.  I know some recipes are sacred, so you don’t have to share the recipe itself if you don’t want to – but I am interested in what you thought about what you cooked.  I’ll be posting my reviews on Fridays; if you’re a blogger, write a post about the dish and link it up in the comments section of my weekly review.  If you’re not a blogger, you can still participate – just share a short review in my comments section.

Since I am mostly doing this for myself – to not feel so rushed on Wednesdays when I’d like to start going to Zumba after work – if I meet this challenge every week, I will be rewarding myself.  My reward is yet to be determined – maybe a new cookbook or some smaller clothes because I lost some weight with Zumba :-).  I am sure there are other similar challenges out in the blog world (though I couldn’t really find one, but didn’t do the most thorough search), so to entice you to join in with me, I am offering a random giveaway at the end of the challenge.  It will be more than just a cookbook; I have some fun ideas but I’m not quite sure what it will be just yet…

The giveaway will happen the first week of January 2014.  Entries into the giveaway are as follows:

  • 1 Entry per week for every recipe you make, review, and share in my comments.
  • 1 Additional Entry per week if it’s a “new” recipe that you make, review, and share in my comments. “New” means that you have not made it in one of the previous weeks.  It can be something you’ve made before, but not something you’ve made during this challenge; it can be something that someone else has made during the challenge, but you have not.
  • 3 Entries (one time) if you comment below “Challenge Accepted” and share at least one review during the time of the challenge.
  • 4 Entries (one time) if you share the Slow Cooker Challenge logo on your blog (and you link me to your blog in the comments below).

My first post will be Friday, April 5th, so be sure to check in on Fridays to share your reviews.  Your post can be made any time during the week (Sunday to Saturday of the week of the Friday of each post) – but please link me to it in the comments on my Friday posts.  The challenge ends December 31st, 2013, and since you can earn points weekly, it’s never too late to join in (except of course after December 31st of this year)!

7 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Challenge

  1. Pingback: Ripped in 30: Day 1 and 2 | It's About More Than the Scale

  2. Pingback: Slow-Cooker Challenge: Week 1 | Real-Life Busy Wife

  3. Pingback: Slow Cooker Challenge Week 2: Pork Teriyaki | Real-Life Busy Wife

  4. Challenge accepted-ish. I’m going to do my best, but I don’t have very many recipes (if any) to pull from. Thanks for creating this challenge; it’s a great idea & a great motivator. Hopefully this will help me get some crock pot recipes & a more consistent meal plan. Good luck on your end of the challenge 🙂

    • Glad you’re joining in! I don’t have a whole lot of recipes either but am hoping I find more good ones through this. So far, I’d say the better ones tend to be from more reputable sites (Martha Stewart, Better Homes and Gardens, etc). Looking forward to hearing what you make!

  5. Pingback: Slow Cooker Challenge Week 3: Thai Chicken and Vegetables | Real-Life Busy Wife

  6. Pingback: I miss blogging… | Real-Life Busy Wife

Leave a Reply

