SlowCooker Thai Chicken and Vegetables

Dear Crockpot, my love for you never fails.  You work hard all day, cooking dinner while we are at work.  By the time I come home, the house is filled with a lovely aroma, and dinner is ready to be devoured by my hungry husband.  Thank you for your hard work.

Yesterday, I made Thai Chicken and Vegetables for dinner in the Crockpot.  My husband and I love Thai food, but there is not a Thai restaurant in the city where we live.  There are 15 pages of restaurants in the phone book, a plethora of hamburger and pizza joints, but not a single one that offers authentic Thai cuisine.

Not that I can promise this recipe is authentic Thai….but it is delicious!

Slower Cooker Thai Chicken and Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 1 Can (13.6 oz) Light Coconut Milk
  • 7 tsp Red Curry Paste, divided
  • 1.5 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 large head Cauliflower (I used a whole small head)
  • 1 Lb Potatoes
  • 1 med Red Pepper
  • 2 med Carrots
  • 1.5 Lbs Chicken Breasts
  • 2 Tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1/3 C Cilantro, chopped
  • 3 Scallions, chopped
  • 1 Lime, cut into 6 wedges
  • 2 Tbsp Peanuts (I used 2 Tbsp per serving…)

Directions

  • In slowcooker, mix coconut milk, 4 tsp curry paste, and salt until blended.
  • Wash, peel, and chop veggies (cauliflower, potatoes, red pepper, and carrots) so that the pieces are similar size; add to slow cooker and stir to coat veggies in coconut mixture.
  • If the chicken breasts are large, cut them in half to assure they will cook thoroughly; rub 2 tsp curry paste on chicken and place on top of veggies.
  • Cook on LOW for 5-6 hours.
  • Remove chicken and chop or shred; set aside.
  • Stir peanut butter and 1 tsp curry paste into slow cooker until blended – being careful not to smash the veggies.
  • Add chicken back to the slow cooker, along with cilantro and scallions.
  • Serve, topping with 1 lime wedge and 1 tsp peanuts (or 2 Tbsp as I did…)

1 serving is about 1.5 C; recipe makes 6 servings.

Couple of Notes

  • If you’re in to Weight Watchers, each serving is 5 original Points (6 if you add more peanuts like I did); 8 PointsPlus.
  • I usually cook chicken on low for 7-8 hours; since the veggies would get too mushy if cooked that long, I added the tip about cutting the chicken if the breasts are large.  I had to cook them a little longer in the oven because I did not do this.
  • I love cilantro and would add more.  If you’re not a fan of cilantro, it didn’t overpower the dish, so don’t be afraid of it.
2 thoughts on “SlowCooker Thai Chicken and Vegetables

  1. Pingback: Day 29 – LAST DAY OF LEVEL 2! | It's About More Than the Scale

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooker Challenge Week 3: Thai Chicken and Vegetables | Real-Life Busy Wife

Leave a Reply

