Repurposing Leftovers: Boiled Potatoes to Potato Soup

After a few days of cramming for my ARE exam and eating away from home because I couldn’t spare the time to cook (or clean for that matter), I was ready for both to be over.   My exam was Monday (won’t find out if I passed for 3 to 6 weeks….), so back to our regular schedule.

One of those crazy stressed out days of studying I did manage to set up the Crockpot for a stress-free meal at home.   I made Crockpot Roast with potatoes and carrots.  There are several variations of this, but the staples of the recipe are roast, potatoes, carrots, and a sauce of at least Lipton Onion dry Soup Mix, cream of mushroom soup and water.  I admittedly didn’t pay much attention when I was peeling and washing potatoes, but after all the roast and carrots were gone, we still had a ton of leftover potatoes.

What to do with leftover cooked potatoes?  Last night I made them into Loaded Potato Soup.

I started with a recipe I found at Skinnytaste.com, then modified it a bit.  I was happy with the way it turned out.  Here’s my soup recipe:

  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Onion – chopped
  • Leftover potatoes, mashed – estimating 1.5C mashed
  • 1 ½ C Milk
  • 1 ½ C Chicken Broth
  • ½ C Sour Cream
  • Salt and Pepper – I go light on the salt, heavy on the pepper – my preference
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • Bacon – fried and crumbled – for topping
  • Shredded Cheddar for topping

 

  • Melt butter in large pot over medium heat.
  • Sautee onions in butter until transparent.
  • Add leftover potatoes, milk, and chicken broth; bring to a boil.
  • The original recipe said to use an immersion blender to blend soup.  I don’t have one, so I just used my potato masher to smash them a little more.
  • Add salt, pepper, oregano and sour cream; simmer for 5-10 minutes.
  • Serve and top with bacon and shredded cheddar (and chives, but I didn’t have any).

 

A couple of other options for repurposing I looked into were mashed potato casserole, salmon and potato cakes (wasn’t too sure about that combo) or potato salad…but I love soup, so it won.

One thought on “Repurposing Leftovers: Boiled Potatoes to Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

