HATE A CHORE? GIVE IT 5 MINUTES

As I’ve mentioned before, my least favorite task is folding and putting away clean laundry.  I’ve been really busy lately, focused on my diet, exercise, and studying – but I’ve managed to keep the house in good-enough-for-company shape…except (no surprise here) the master bedroom.  Though I refuse to let the bed go unmade, piles of laundry, both clean and dirty, have formed.   I blame my lack of a dryer for the dirty piles, because I haven’t had time to go to the Laundromat to dry towels…so I don’t want to wash them.

I need a spare hour and a half to tackle this…but with all my time and energy focused elsewhere, I don’t feel like I have that amount of time to devote to it.

This morning, pushed to my limit with the mess, I got the bright idea that maybe it doesn’t have to be 90 consecutive minutes.  Maybe I can just spend 5 minutes here and there and get our room back into shape.

So, how much can you really get done in 5 minutes?

Surprisingly, quite a bit.  I tried it out this morning.   I needed to cool off for a few minutes after blow-drying my hair (does this make anyone else extremely hot?) so instead of just sitting down and drinking my coffee, I tackled half of the can-be-worn-again pile that had formed on my side of the bed.  Tonight, before I get into bed, I’ll spend 5 more minutes and hopefully we’ll have one less pile.  Maybe I can talk the husband into donating 5 minutes for the cause too.

Once we get the room back in order, 5 minutes a day would be enough to keep it in order.  It takes about 2 minutes to make the bed (which I don’t count right now), one minute to hang up the days rewearables or put the dirties into the hamper and put away shoes.  That leaves 2 minutes to spare!  That could include dusting one day,  vacuuming another, folding laundry one day, and putting away the next.  Okay, some of those may take more than 2 minutes…but it wouldn’t take more than 10.

I actually adopted this idea from my mother-in-law.  I’ve heard her mention that when she doesn’t want to clean, she’ll set the kitchen timer for 30 minutes and clean until it goes off.  Sometimes, she’ll continue until the room is clean, and others, she’ll just work the 30 minutes.  I don’t feel I have 30 minutes at a time to spare (yes, I am keeping myself that busy)…or at least not to spare on my least favorite task…but I can spare 5 minutes, twice a day.

I’ll report how many 5-minutes it takes to tame our room…and then I’m going to do everything I can to keep it that way…so long as it doesn’t take time away from studying – ha!

What can you achieve in 5 minutes?

3 thoughts on “HATE A CHORE? GIVE IT 5 MINUTES

  1. WONDERFUL!! much like my task to tackle the clutter in the house, one little.section at a time!

    I also have those piles of clothes…how in the world they grow is beyond me! Well, maybe not. Lol!

Leave a Reply

