Repurposing Leftovers: Chicken Tacos into Chicken Tortilla Soup

I love my Crockpot.  In fact, I love the slow cooker so much that I wore out my first one (but it WAS just a cheap one from Big Lots).  We got a nicer one as a wedding gift  – bigger and with a timer. But here’s what I really like about it:  dinner is ready when I get home from work.

Last week, I made one of my favorite Crockpot recipes:  Martha Stewart’s Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos.  I use a few chicken breasts rather than the thighs that she suggests, and we always have lots of leftover meat – more than we need for lunch the next day.  So what to do with the leftover cooked chicken?

Well, last night, I turned the leftover chicken into Chicken Tortilla Soup, using the Pioneer Woman’s recipe.  We topped it with sour cream, avocado, and black olives (and cheddar cheese on the huband’s).  YUM!

Now we have leftover soup to eat for a few meals.

I love repurposing leftovers almost as much as I love my Crockpot.  I dream of creating a cookbook that incorporates how to use the leftovers, among other things.

One thought on “Repurposing Leftovers: Chicken Tacos into Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: Slow-Cooker Challenge: Week 1 | Real-Life Busy Wife

Leave a Reply

