How Often Do You Clean Your Fridge?

As I mentioned in my previous post, our refrigerator has been out of commission for the last 13 days.  But not any more!  I met the repairman at the house and within 30 minutes, he had replaced the motor; the fridge was cooling again; and I had spent $300.  OUCH!  I have to keep reminding myself that it is cheaper than buying a new one.

 

After the repairman left, I emptied the fridge of a few things that I didn’t put in the coolers and wiped the shelves and baskets down again.  Then I noticed the shelves on the door.  GROSS.   As much as it pains me to admit, I don’t think they have been wiped out since I first bought the fridge…almost 4 years ago.  Nothing was spilled on them, but they had collected some trash.  I took the fronts of the shelves off, washed them, and wiped down the shelves before replacing the fronts.  After wiping down the top, which had collected quite a bit of dust, it’s as good as new again.

 

Clean fridge...time to grocery shop...

Clean fridge…time to grocery shop…

 

But that got me to thinking, how often should I deep clean the fridge?  I never thought the refrigerator was dirty, since we’re really good about getting rid of old items weekly and wiping up as needed.  I put “deep clean the fridge” on my cleaning schedule to be done once a month, but I was thinking more of quickly wiping down the inside and out and going through the contents to throw out anything that had expired.  I wasn’t really thinking about taking out all the bins and shelf fronts to wash…or pulling the fridge away from the wall and vacuuming up dust bunnies.  That’s another task I hadn’t done in 4 years until last week when the husband pulled the fridge out to see if he could repair it; another thing I don’t want to readily admit, the back of the fridge was fuzzy with dust.

 

While I know both of those tasks need to be done more than once every 4 years, I don’t think it is necessary to go to that extent monthly.  My hope is that the monthly semi-deep clean will keep it in good condition, and I’ll do the overhaul twice a year.

 

So how often do you clean your fridge – deep clean or otherwise?

3 thoughts on “How Often Do You Clean Your Fridge?

  1. I try to seep clean my fridge quarterly. Also you should clean the underside of the fridge too. Get one of those long extension brushes that are used to clean lint traps for dryers (so you clean that too?). The cooling coils.for my fridge are on the bottom. It is important to clean the dust ofd them at least every 6 months ( a repairman told me once), so now I yet to do it quarterly, knowing I may miss once and still get the semi annual cleaning done.

  2. I’ve been meaning to do this for over a year!!! I need to clean before we do groceries but i always forget. I should just mark it on my calendar next week and get it over with already.

Leave a Reply

