Cleaning Schedule

Since I decided that being a better housekeeper was going to be one of my 2013 resolutions, I’ve been looking at a plethora of daily cleaning schedules.   A simple Pinterest search brings up a ton.  I’ve looked and pinned quite a few, but none were quite the perfect fit for me – so I made my own.

One of the favorites that I found suggested making a 4-week schedule to include items that need to be done monthly, like checking the smoke detector batteries and changing the air filter.   The article included a template, so I started there.

The article also has some good advice, so if you’re interested in the template or the advice, here’s a link.

I decided to do a couple of things a little differently than this schedule.  I did away with the “owner” heading that the template includes since this is my resolution, not my husband’s.  However, I’m sure that he will be helping out with the tasks, and he’s more than welcome to mark them off the list – I just didn’t want to assign him anything.  I also decided to include a few things I want to do daily, such as wash the dishes, wipe down the counters, and go through the mail.  I also broke some of the “deep cleaning” tasks out to do separately, such as cleaning the inside and outside of the fridge on a different day than I clean the rest of the kitchen.  I lumped areas of my house together to deep clean, such as the kitchen, dining area, and den, which are all open to each other.

Cleaning Schedule.xlsx

This first 4-week schedule is going to be more of an experiment than a firm schedule, one reason being that we’re going to have a houseguest for the first two weeks, so I’m sure I will be off schedule more than on.  I also have a feeling that some days will take 30 minutes to complete the tasks, while others will take 3 hours.  I’d eventually like to find a balance, so I left space at the bottom to track the time.  Ideally, those deep cleaning days that take 3 hours to complete could be broken up into one-day-a-month tasks, but that would make the schedule incredibly long and daunting.   I may work that way anyway, marking “deep cleaning” off on the day I finish all the tasks.

Deep Cleaning Tasks

I know there some things I forgot, like cleaning out the gutters monthly and any once a year tasks, like cleaning the carpets, but it’s a start.  If you have a cleaning schedule you follow, feel free to share or link me to it!

I am also happy to report that yesterday, I finally tackled the piles of laundry in the master bedroom and reorganized the closet as well as the dresser drawers.  Today was more laundry (sheets to prepare for our houseguest), and I implemented another organization tip from the article that suggest turning the clothes hangers backwards:

Store extra sheets inside of one of the match pillow cases; found on Pinterest via Buzzfeed.

Store extra sheets inside of one of the matching pillow cases; found on Pinterest via Buzzfeed.

Leave a Reply

